The process for learning how to become a dental hygienist in Louisiana requires extensive planning and research. However, students can complete the process faster by becoming familiar with the laws, rules and regulations in the state of Louisiana. Dental hygienists treat and prevent oral diseases. Hygienists review the patient medical history, they check for oral diseases, they interpret x-rays, and they also remove deposits from teeth. Dental assistants will also check the patient’s blood pressure and offer oral health instructions and they may also apply agents to the teeth.
Dental Salary Hygienist in Louisiana
According to the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics, the median annual wage was $70, 210 in May 2012. Examine the steps that will teach candidates how to become a dental hygienist in Louisiana.
To become a successful dental hygienist in Louisiana, students and potential candidates should develop a strong background in biology, chemistry, mathematics and physics. According to Education News, a free online education database, there are four dental hygiene schools in Louisiana.
First, potential candidates need to at least receive a high school diploma or a General Education Development certificate or diploma. More importantly, dental hygienists generally obtain an associate degree in dental hygiene. In Louisiana, all dental assistants must have a license. Candidates can apply for entry level programs, degree programs and master programs. The application package for the state of Louisiana is 12 pages long.
In Louisiana, dental hygienists must graduate from a dental hygiene school. Candidate’s schools need the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association credentials. Dental graduates will pay a $250.00 non-refundable application fee and a $15.00 or $30.00 Well Being Program fee that is based on the letters of the applicant’s last name. Also, students need to complete the National Board Dental Hygiene Exam and a Louisiana State Board of Dentistry Examination.
Furthermore, students are required to obtain a Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) card for healthcare providers. Hygienists in Louisiana must be a United States citizen. However, students and candidates can also qualify if they are permanent residents. Dental hygienists must also pass a Louisiana State Board of Dentistry jurisprudence test. The state also requires all applicants to have a fingerprint background check. Applicants must have a notarize application and all fees need to be paid before the license is issued.
On the other hand, students will have to develop a budget if they are planning to enter dental hygienist school in Louisiana. If the student goes to school for two or four years in Louisiana, the degree will cost $3,500 to at least $20,000. Therefore, students should seriously consider the costs before deciding to attend dental hygienist schools in Louisiana. It is also very important that candidates go to the Louisiana State Board of Dentistry to find out additional information about how to become a dental hygienist in Louisiana.
Finally, the state of Louisiana has continuing education requirements. Dental hygienists perform several types of job duties in Louisiana. However, these duties are approved by the state based on the applicant’s education, skills, abilities and credentials. Then, there are additional fees and requirements for the dental hygienist that wants to become a specialist.